Notes & Forms

Information about Note Templates in Billing

Billing / Notes & Forms 6.6 Upcoming Notes Functionality Updates

For the upcoming 6.6 release, two new permissions will be added, which will allow organizations to control the users that can attach notes to timesheets

  1. Notes > Copy Note
    • Ability to copy an existing note/form from the timesheet screen. Copying will create a new resource ID which can be edited/modified and then saved.
  2. Notes > Select Note
    • Ability to select an existing note/form from the timesheet screen. Selecting an unsigned document will allow the existing note to be edited/modified from its original version and then saved.

Both permissions are enabled for all Custom groups. Depending on the permissions enabled, users can access the following screens when creating or editing timesheets:

  • Users with both the (Notes > Select Note) and (Notes > Copy Note) permissions enabled can click Select Existing Note to copy or select a note.



    • This will prompt the new “Select Existing Note” pop-up. Select a note or enter the name of the note in the Type to filter… search bar



      • Click Select to attach the selected note to the timesheet.
      • Click Select as Copy to attach a copy of the selected note to the timesheet. This will create a copy of the note with a new resource ID.
      • Once a note has been selected or copied, it can be edited in the “Edit Note” pop-up, if needed.
    • Notes that have been attached to a billing entry will display an “i” on the right-hand side.



  • Users with only the (Notes > Copy Note) permission enabled can click Copy Existing Note to copy an existing note and attach it to the timesheet.

    • Users can then view the new “Select Existing Note” pop-up, but can only select notes as copies.



      • Click Select as Copy to attach a copy of the selected note to the timesheet.
  • Users with only the (Notes > Select Note) permission enabled can click Select Existing Note to select notes to attach to timesheets.



    • Users can then view the new “Select Existing Note” pop-up, but cannot select notes as copies.

      • Click Select to attach the selected note to the timesheet.
  • Users without either permission enabled can only click New Note to create new notes to attach to timesheets. 
    • If the New Note button is completely blue, the note is required.
    • If the New Note button is outlined in blue, the note is optional. “Optional” will display under the title.



When users copy, select, or attach notes to timesheets, changes will be recorded in the “History” tab of timesheets.

New Notes & Forms Pop-Up

A new “Edit Note” pop-up will allow users to modify “Notes & Forms” in users’ profiles. When selecting an existing unlocked or locked note on a profile, the note will open in this pop-up and allow users to input any information or make changes to the note.

 

Once all changes to the note have been made, users must select one of the following options:

  • Preview: displays the note in a separate pop-up, in front of the “Edit Note” pop-up.
  • Save & Lock: saves and locks the note, and closes the pop-up.
  • Save: saves the note and keeps the pop-up open.
  • Save & Close: saves the note and closes the pop-up.

If the user clicks Cancel, the “Unsaved Changes” pop-up will appear to alert users to save any edits.

 

From this pop-up, users can click:

  • Save: saves the note.
  • Discard Changes: closes the pop-up without saving any changes.
  • Cancel: closes the pop-up and returns the user to the “Edit Note” pop-up with unsaved changes.