Permissions

The Permissions Module is represented by the padlock icon, and is the section where user access is assigned or restricted for each employee within the CentralReach organization account.

Contacts / Permissions Permission to Disable Client Portal Contact View

The  Permissions module provides you an option that allows you to create a permission group with users who should be hidden from clients in the Client Portal. This feature allows you to hide contacts who need to be connected to clients for administrative tasks such as billing and scheduling, but should not be visible to the client in the Client Portal Teams menu, for messaging or any other communication.

To create a permission group of contacts to be hidden in the Client Portal:

  1. Navigate to the  Permissions module
  2. Click + New Group on the top right hand-side of the page
  3. Click Name to enter a permission group name
  4. Click Description to enter the description of the group
  5. Click Save New Group
  6. Click the Permissions tab
    • Click the toggle to Hide Employee from Client Portal
  7. Click the Users tab:
    • Enter the employee name to be assigned to this permission group and click enter or click Browse all employees not yet added to “Group name” to display a list of all your employees
    • Select who needs to be added to this group
    • Click Add Selected
    • To remove an employee from this permission group, click the trashcan icon next to the employee name

Permissions Viewing System Permission Groups

To view system permission groups:

  1. Navigate to the Permissions Module 
  2. Click the System button on the top of the permissions page
  3. Click any system permission
    • The Details tab displays the type of access granted by the system permission group selected
    • The Permissions tab displays specific permissions enabled under each module, for the system permission group selected
    • The Users tab displays all the users assigned to the system permission group and allows you to add more users to the group

To learn what are system permission groups, click here. 

To learn more about the permissions available under each CentralReach module, click here.

Permissions Creating a Custom Permission Group

To create a custom permission group:

  1. Navigate to the Permissions Module 
  2. Click + New Group on the top right hand-side of the page
  3. Click Name to enter a permission group name
  4. Click Description to edit the description of the group
  5. Click Save New Group
  6. On the Details tab, click Make Default Employee Group to automatically assign this permission to all new employees added to CentralReach
  7. Click and complete the Permissions tab:
    • Click each module and select the permissions to be granted by the group
  8. Click and complete the Users tab:
    • Enter the employee name to be assigned to this permission group and click enter or click Browse all employees not yet added to “Group name” to display a list of all your employees
    • Select who needs to be added to this group
    • Click Add Selected

To learn what is a custom permission group, click here. 

To learn more about permissions, click here.

Permissions Creating a Custom Permission Group From an Existing Group

The easiest way to create a custom permission group is to duplicate and edit a system permission group with similar access rights as the custom group you need to create.

To create a new custom permission group by duplicating a system permission group:

  1. Navigate to the Permissions Module 
  2. Click the System button on the top of the permissions page
  3. Click the system permission group you would like to duplicate
  4. Within the Details tab, click Duplicate This System Template
  5. The duplicated permission group will be shown and titled Copy of “Name of the original template”
  6. Complete the Details tab:
    • Click Name to enter a permission group name
    • Click Description to edit the description of the group
    • Click Make Default Employee Group to automatically assign this permission to all new employees added to CentralReach
  7.  Click and complete the Permissions tab:
    • Click each module and select/edit the permissions to be granted by the group
  8. Click and complete the Users tab:
    • Enter the employee name to be assigned to this permission group and click enter or click Browse all employees not yet added to “Group name” to display a list of all your employees
    • Select who needs to be added to this group
    • Click Add Selected

Permissions Edit Permissions in a Custom Permission Group

The organization account, or a user with the proper permission, is able to edit the permissions granted to employees under a custom permission group.

To edit the permissions granted in a custom permission group:

  1. Navigate to the Permissions Module 
  2. Click the Custom button on top of the permission groups, to filter all the custom groups you are able to edit
  3. Click the permission group you want to edit
  4. Click the Permissions tab
  5. Click the module or feature you want to edit permissions from:
    • To grant a new permission to employees in the group, click the x gray button on the right hand-side of the permission to turn it into a green checkmark .
    • To remove the specific permission from the employees in the group, click the green checkmark  to turn it into an x gray button.

Permissions Review and Edit Employee Permissions

To review and edit an employee’s permission:

  1. Navigate to the Permissions Module 
  2. Click the Review Employee Permissions button on the top of the permissions page
  3. Enter the employee name
  4. The list of modules will be displayed
    • A green checkmark bubble icon indicates the user has all of the permissions available within the module enabled
    • A grey checkmark bubble icon indicates the user has some of the permissions available within the module enabled
    • A grey x bubble icon indicates the user does not have any of the permissions available within the module enabled
  5. Click each module to expand the module’s permissions list
  6. Click  View Group Membership. Two column of permission groups will be displayed:
    • “Employee name” has permissions via displays the list of groups through which the employee has the specific permission enabled
    • Other groups with this permission display the list of other groups that have this specific permission enabled
    • Click any of the groups listed to be redirected to the permission group and add or remove employees included in the group.

Permissions Add or Remove Employees from a Permission Group

To add or remove employees from a permission group:

  1. Navigate to the Permissions Module 
  2. Click the permission group you would like to add or remove employees from
  3. Click the Users tab
  4. To add employees to the group:
    • Enter the employee name to be added to this permission group and click enter, or click Browse all employees not yet added to “Group name” to display a list of all your employees
    • Select who needs to be added to this group
    • Click Add Selected
  5. To remove employees from the group:
    • Click the trashcan  icon next to the employee you would like to remove from the group